Thu. Sep 29th, 2022

Abia Reporters




The state government has inaugurated a seven member committee to document all those purpotedly employed at the secondary education management Board SEMB from 2018 to date.

It also inaugurated an eight member committee to resolve pension related issues of junior and senior secondary schools with a view to realizing full implementation of the disarticulation exercise.

Speaking while inaugurating the committees in his conference room at Government House Umuahia on behalf of the state Governor,the Chief of Staff to the Governor,Dr A.C.B Agbazuere disclosed that Governor Okezie Ikpeazu remains very passionate and determined to do exploits in the area of education and other facets of the state economy as well as addressing all pension related issues across the state.

Dr Agbazuere directed the members of the committee on Secondary Education Management Board to ensure that the affected people tender papers issued to them as appointment letters, their qualifications, where they were posted to and salary placements while the committee to resolve pension related issues of junior and senior secondary schools to review the records of establishment of pensions boards to isolate and determine retirees who belong to primary,junior and senior secondary schools among others as part of the terms of reference.

Dr Agbazuere while assuring them of government support to enable them carry out their assignment effectively charged them to see their nomination as members of the different committees as a call to serve hence the need for them to be thorough,focused, avoid compromise and ensure they file in their reports within the next 21 days.

Members of the committee for SEMB recruitment include Dr Mrs Kate Ndubuka -Chairman,Mr Chukwudi Iheka – Secretary,Mr Kingsley Ogbuehi,Mr Azubuike Anyatonwu,Mrs Lynda Alaribe,Mr Ihuoma Ohajuru and Mr Valentine Igboanugwo while the committee members to resolve pension related issues of junior and senior secondary schools include Elder Gabriel Ahuruonye – Chairman,Mr Amaechi Chukwu – Secretary,Mrs Helen Ekwuruibe,Mr Ibuchim Okorie,Mr Emmanuel Nwacham,Mr Igwe Peters,Mr Okey Ihedioha and Mr Ike Emmanuel.

Responding,the Chairman of the SEMB committee,Dr Mrs Kate Ndubuka and her Pension related issues counterpart,Elder Gabriel Ahuruonye appreciated Governor Okezie Ikpeazu for finding them worthy to serve, promised not to betray the confidence reposed on them.

The Commissioner for Finance,Dr Aham Uko and his Education counterpart,Dr K.C.K Nwangwa among other Special Aides to the Governor were present during the inauguration ceremony.

About Author