Sun. Oct 2nd, 2022

Abia Reporters


AbIa State PDP Caucus Zones Chairmanship to Abia South

AbIa State PDP Caucus Zones Chairmanship to Abia South

Members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) State Caucus made up of the elected leaders of the party and major stakeholders, led by Abia State Governor, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu, have resolved to cede the State Chairmanship of the party to Abia South Senatorial District of the state.

This followed the unanimous adoption of the resolutions of the congress committee led by Arc Benson Ezem which was empowered by the Leader of the party to come up with a fair and equitable formulae for executing the forthcoming congresses of the party in the state. The committee specifically recommended that the next State Chairman of the party should emerge from Ukwa area of the district.

Members of the congress also adopted a position swap arrangement that will ensure that positions previously held by one zone will go to another zone and mandated the Party’s State Executive Team lead by Sir Johnson Onuigbo to ensure full implementation of the resolutions of the caucus as well as a smooth congress commencing from the ward level on March 14, 2020.

The caucus members also celebrated Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe who marked his 65th birthday anniversary today and urged him to continue to represent the state well at the National Assembly while wishing him many more years of good health and service to the people of the state.

Top among the attendees at the meeting were the Governor, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu, his Deputy, Rt Hon Ude Oko Chukwu, Senators Enyi Abaribe, T A Orji, Mao Ohuabunwa and members of the House of Representatives elected on the party’s banner as well as the national Organizing Secretary of the Party, Col Augustine Akobundu and the Speaker of Abia State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji who led serving and former principal officers of the state House of Assembly to the meeting.

Others include former Senate President, Dr Adolphus Wabara, Former Deputy Governors, Rt Hon Acho Nwakanma and Col Emeka Ananaba, rtd.

Former Chairmen of the party in the state including Senator Emma Nwaka, Chief Ndidi Okereke, Arc Benson Ezem and Chief Tony Ukasanya led other major stakeholders including Chief Allen Nwachukwu, Ambassador Empire Kanu and Elder Eziuche Ubani, among others to the meeting which was also attended by some members of the state executive council and members of the PDP state exco.

About Author